In which I crash my own Turkish wedding

Prekrasno

My last post about domestic violence in Turkey was a bit too somber for the brightness and smiles of all the pictures taken at my fake wedding. That night has been one of my favorites in Turkey – it was so wonderful to meet all the people at FOMGED and be a surprise guest at my own wedding. It was so fun to stumble through the wedding ceremony (the girls and guys helping Jack and me would whisper instructions 10 seconds before we had to do something, and the instructions were vague at best, but it was hilarious regardless) and to dance with everyone afterward. My heart burst while walking back to FOMGED headquarters and a little boy looked up at me with huge eyes and said, “Abla!” This means “older sister” literally, but is used to talk to older girls or women as a sign of respect. It was…

View original post 14 more words

Leave a Reply

