Kitchen Vacation: Ottoman Chicken

Go Go Go

As I explained yesterday, one of the things I brought back from Istanbul was a baggie of Ottoman spice. I don’t know precisely what’s in it, but my guess is: cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, garlic, and thyme. Heavier on cumin and paprika, lighter on the rest. That’s about as precise as the rest of this recipe is going to be.

Ottoman chicken was a recipe I invented to make for a rather gourmet camping trip I took with a few friends last summer. I made the marinade and kept it in a tupperware, and I packed the chicken separately, still frozen, and then I let the chicken thaw, cut it up, and combined it with the marinade on the second day of our trip. No one died of salmonella, but I can’t guarantee you’ll get the same results, so maybe you want to make this in your home kitchen, with…

View original post 193 more words

Leave a Reply

