Seeing New Things: A trip to the Hagia Sophia

The Unintentional Explorer

Every once in a while I realize that I have heard or read about something so much that I know what it is, but have absolutely no mental image for the subject at hand. For example: rutabagas, Sandra Day O’Connor, and the Hagia Sophia.

I don’t know how I had never seen a picture of the Hagia Sophia, but I think it is because most of what I knew came from history books or novels. I had never thought to Google image search “Hagia Sophia.” (Though I just did that with “rutabaga”—Thanks, Google!)

Hagia Sophia
When I finally walked into the basilica-turned-mosque-turned-museum in January, I felt my expectations blown out of the water, though I’d never known what my expectations had been exactly.

My long weekend in Istanbul subverted many of my expectations, the border crossing itself worthy of a full blog post. I hadn’t gotten my hopes up…

View original post 400 more words

Leave a Reply

